Monthly Archives: May 2009

BCLA ALPS Award for Outstanding Service Winners 2009

Established in 2002, the ALPS Award for Outstanding Service is presented to an academic public service librarian, or team of same, whose outstanding service has made a real difference to students, faculty, or colleagues.

This year, at the BCLA Awards Reception held at the BC Library Conference on Fri. April 17th, Ken Cooley (Incoming BCLA President, University of Victoria), presented this award to Stephen Blaeser and Ryan Vernon of the BC College and Institute Library Services (CILS).   CILS is located at Langara College and funded by the B.C. Ministry of Advanced Education and Labour Market Development to provide information services in alternate formats for B.C. post-secondary students with print disabilities:

As Ken noted during the award presentation: “In making their selection, the ALPS Award Committee noted Stephen’s and Ryan’s innovative approach to supporting print-disabled clients. The committee was particularly impressed by these librarians’ commitment to the principles of service, collaboration, teaching and training, and information sharing across institutions and sectors, within and beyond the library community.”

Congratulations once again to Stephen and Ryan! And many thanks to this year’s ALPS Award Committee members Colleen Bell (University of the Fraser Valley), Paula Farrar (University of British Columbia), Janis McKenzie (Simon Fraser University), and Todd Rowlatt (Vancouver Community College).


ALPS Executive 2009/2010

At the ALPS Annual General Meeting held at the BC Library Conference on Sat. April 18th, we welcomed the incoming ALPS Executive for 2009/10 :

Chair:  Katherine Miller, University of British Columbia
Chair-Elect:  Hope Power, Simon Fraser University
Continuing Education Coordinator (2nd year):  Nicole Aerts,  Royal Roads University
Continuing Education Coordinator (1st year of 2-year term):  Todd Rowlatt, Vancouver Community College
Recording Secretary:  Susan Paterson, University of British Columbia
SLAIS Student Representative: Tara Stieglitz, BCLA/CLA Student Chapter Association at UBC

Thanks to outgoing chair Ophelia Ma (University of Victoria), outgoing continuing education coordinator Celia Brinkerhoff (Douglas College), and outgoing SLAIS student representative Nicole Penz, for all of their hard work this past year!