Monthly Archives: February 2009

ALPS Yodeler / BCLA Browser Call for Submissions

New submissions for the ALPS Yodeler blog are very welcome and will also be submitted for publication in the ALPS Yodeler column in the next issue of the BCLA Browser.  The deadline for submissions for issue no. 2 of the BCLA Browser is March 10th for an April 1 publication date.

News items and reports for the ALPS Yodeler blog/Browser column can be sent to Hope Power, ALPS Recording Secretary, at  (please include your name, job title, and contact info).  Share with your colleagues the news and events happening at your BC academic library or report on a topic of interest to academic librarians!


ALPS Award for Outstanding Service: Call for Nominations

Established in 2002, the ALPS Award for Outstanding Service is presented to an academic public service librarian, or team of same, whose outstanding service has made a real difference to students, faculty, or colleagues.


This year, the award will be presented at the BCLA Conference awards reception, where conference attendees can honour BCLA award winners for their significant achievements. The reception will be held from 7pm to 11pm on Friday, April 17, 2009 at the Hilton Metrotown in Burnaby, BC. ALPS will also publicize the award winner in appropriate media and in a letter to the award winner’s institution.


The awards committee welcomes all nominations for this award. Nominations will be accepted until February 27, 2009, and should be e-mailed to Todd Rowlatt at . The nomination form is available here:


Nominees or their institutions are required to be BCLA members.

Please be sure to include the following:

name of nominator

name of nominee

project or reason for nomination

contact information for nominator in case we need to follow up


Criteria for nomination could include:

Demonstrated (through example and/or statistics) impact on students, colleagues or the library

Demonstrated collaboration with colleagues or other institutions

Worthy of inspiring similar efforts within the profession

The 2008/09 ALPS Awards Committee is:
Colleen Bell (University of the FraserValley)

Paula Farrar (University of British Columbia)

Janis McKenzie (Simon Fraser University)

Todd Rowlatt (Vancouver Community College)


 Submitted by: Todd Rowlatt, Vancouver Community College Library